Take a Tour of Grand Ledge
- 118 W. Lincoln, The Museum
This 1880 Gothic Revival cottage, built for Rev. Byron Pratt, showcases a complete restoration by the Grand Ledge Area Historical Society. The Museum is open Sundays from 2 to 4 p.m. and by appointment.
- 410 Harrison Street, Shane-Baptist Parsonage
This house was built in 1906 for Willard Shane, a local businessman, by his father George. It is a fine example of Queen Anne architecture. This style is distinguished by an asymmetrical shape adorned with turrets, porches and gables.
- 411 Harrison Street, United Methodist Church
This fine example of Romanesque Revival architecture was dedicated in 1912.
- 321 Harrison Street, Kent-Winfield
Edwin Kent built this Eastlake style house, one in a row of three, in 1891.
- 315 W. Jefferson Street, Turnbull-Mulvay
This stately brick home was originally Italianate in style. In 1899 Edward Turnbull, owner of Grand Ledge Chair Company, altered it to Colonial Revival and added a third floor. It is now divided into apartments.
- 316 W. Jefferson Street, Rawson-Diebold
Built in the late 1880’s for a local business family, this house features an interesting square tower with small-paned, multi- colored glass windows.
- 304 W. Jefferson Street, Campbell-Wirbel
Surviving original features indicate that this was a Stick style house when first built by local carpenters in 1886. Note the sharply pointed gables bearing wood decoration common to the period. The addition of the wrap-around porch with turned spindles occurred around the turn of the century. Note other examples of added wrap-around porches at 207 and 315 E. Jefferson Street.
- 238 W. River Street, Latting-Porter
This picturesque bungalow, which has a lofty view of the Grand River and Island Park, was built by the owner of the adjacent house for his daughter in 1913. The house is simple in design, with wide overhanging eaves that extend outward over a large porch.
- 219 W. Jefferson Street, Sheets-Fitzgerald
A state historic site, this house was the official residence of Gov. Frank D. Fitzgerald from 1936-1939. Built in 1909 for a local merchant, this brick house is of the Romanesque style with a tile roof, massive chimney, and rounded bay windows. The original owners, who were Spiritualists, used the third floor to conduct seances. Note the variety of window styles and the rounded dormer flanked by two additional dormers with triangular roofs.
- 211 W. Jefferson Street, Edwards-Stout
This structure and the adjacent house at 207 W. Jefferson Street were built by Elmer Edwards in the early 1900’s from unusual “rusticated” cement blocks produced by the William Devine and Sons Cement Company. These are two of many cement blockhouses in Grand Ledge made from local blocks.
- 210 W. Jefferson Street, Bryce- Congregational Parsonage
This large Vernacular Victorian brick home was built at the turn of the century for the cashier of a local bank. The simple lines and the absence of ornamentation are characteristic of this style. The structure at one time served as the parsonage for the Congregational Church.
- 119 W .Jefferson Street, Kent-Trinklein
Built in 1893, this brick Eastlake Victorian home has high gable ends and a recessed porch with clusters of pillars painted to enhance the architectural detail. Note the characteristic Eastlake carving on the front door. The belvedere atop the house was added in the 1970’s.
- 118 E. Jefferson Street, U.S. Post Office
Built under the Emergency Construction Program Act in 1938, the Post Office depicts a traditional design of that era for public buildings, having a stylized Classical order with stone base, brick exterior walls and stone trim. The interior wall mural, painted by Detroit-born artist James Calder in 1939, depicts a rural scene in Grand Ledge with the water tower and possibly the Grand Ledge Chair Company and tile factory.
- 131 E. Jefferson Street, Public Library
Built in 1931, 20 years after the inception of the Ladies’ Library Association, the Grand Ledge Public Library is typical of the Classical style of architecture popular during period. The symmetrical design is enhanced with a soft green tile roof, many-paned windows, and a formal entrance with an elliptical pediment. The brick used in construction was from the Grand Ledge Face Brick Company, a local concern that ceased operation in 1947.
- 201 E. Jefferson Street, Trinity Episcopal Church
Built in 1911, the Trinity Episcopal Church is a fine example of the Eclectic Gothic style with its arched windows, buttresses, and square bell tower. Take particular notice of the 12 Belgian leaded glass windows showing the life and ministry of Jesus Christ.
- 207 E. Jefferson Street, Smith Bros. Law Office- Davis Building
One of several beautiful examples of Italianate architecture, this structure is unique in Grand Ledge in that it retains its original crowning belvedere. Built in the 1870’s for a local physician, it has served as a Catholic rectory, a law office and now an office building.
- 220 E. Jefferson Street, Fitzgerald-Moyes
An excellent example of the Stick style, this house was built in 1890 for a local businessman. Note the wood trimmed upper floor, an adaptation of the English half-timber style, and bold use of colored glass in the upper portion of the windows.
- 302 E. Jefferson Street, Wareham-Wade
This is another example of the popular Italianate style with a wide overhanging cornice supported by heavy brackets or corbels. Note the decorative fanlight window above the front doors. Built in two stages during the 1850’s and 1860’s, it was the residence of the Wareham family whose son, John”Dee,” was president of Rookwood Art Pottery of Cincinnati, Ohio.
- 315 E. Jefferson Street, Berry
This structure was also built in stages, the rear portion in the 1870’s. The front about 1900, and the wrap-around porch still later. Occupied at one time by Fred Berry, a prominent banker, this Colonial Revival House is one of several in Grand Ledge with a third floor ballroom.
- 328 E. Jefferson Street, Tucker
Built in 1911 for a Grand Ledge merchant, the house’s exterior is embellished with bay windows, beveled and leaded glass upper windowpanes, and heavy finished wood.
- 406 E. Jefferson Street, Granger-Garlock
Built in 1881 for Sylvester Granger, a local businessman, this two-story home is in the Georgian Colonial style. The porch is of particular interest with Ionic columns and displays dentil molding and turned balustrades.
- 424 E. Jefferson Street, Spencer-Oding
This house was built in 1900 and later owned by the Oding family, local grocers, and is an example of Queen Anne architecture. Note the leaded glass window treatments, projecting bay windows on the first and second stories, and inviting front porch with clustered Classical columns.
- 428 E. Lincoln Street, Stobel-Huhn
Known as “The Homestead. ” this Georgian Colonial house was built in 1930 as a funeral parlor for the Stobel family who lived in the adjacent cottage. It was converted to private residence in the 1960’s. The use of a symmetrical design with cornices and chimneys located at either end is this typical of this style. Note the portico surrounding the front door trimmed with dentil molding and Doric columns. Behind the structure is a 1909 carriage house (visible from Kent Street), which is constructed of conduit tile from the Grand Ledge Clay Products Company.
- 502 E. Scott Street, Dale
Probably built in the 1880’s when the Italianate style was highly popular, this one story version of the bracketed style is unique in Grand Ledge. Note the tall, narrow window treatments with bracketed heads.
- 300 E. Scott Street, Chappell-Worthy
This Gothic revival home with unique Italian villa window casements was built in the 1870’s. The Fred Chappell family lived here 59 years. He was a local pharmacist.
- 221 E. Scott Street, Putterille-Smith
The exterior of this house exhibits the Victorian era’s extensive use of architectural detail and use of bold color. Originally a simple structure built in 1893 by a local blacksmith, it was expanded into the existing Queen Anne structure with third floor ballroom in the early 1900’s.
- 316 Taylor Street, Grand Ledge Hotel-Deming Law Office
This post-Victorian Princess Anne was built in 1902 as a private residence before becoming first a hotel, then a fabric shop and now a law office.
- 312 Taylor Street, Coryell-Voltattorni, DDS
Built in 1890, this structure is one of the area’s finest examples of Carpenter Gothic architecture. Take time to examine the use of ornate exterior detail on porches and balconies, and the square bay windows decorated with colore colored glass panes. Moved to this location from the comer lot in 1923, this structure served as a dress shop and now a dental office.